DUI law Kentucky: Kentucky uses two theories to find responsibility in drivers suspected of DUI. The first is the theory is by poisoning. Under the rule itself, anyone with a blood alcohol level of the blood in excess. 08% is guilty of violating the state’s ban on driving while intoxicated.
The per se rule is a little complicated; it does not take into account the state of the driver at the time of arrest. Test poisoning is usually obtained through blood or breath tests, although the police may request a urine test if they believe is the best way to determine the level of intoxication.
A member of the State Senate Kentucky has introduced legislation that would reduce the blood alcohol level for driving drunk aggravated. Establish laws of driving drunken Kentucky. 08% BAC as the threshold for legal intoxication, Currently a BAC of 18% or higher is considered an aggravated offense subject to additional sanctions. 71 draft Senate bill would establish. 15% BAC as the new threshold of aggravated DUI. By law, a highly intoxicated driver first offense would be required to spend a minimum of four days in jail.
The bill also increases penalties for drivers caught for driving under the influence of drugs. The bill passed the Senate Judiciary Committee and will soon be presented to the full Senate of the General Assembly of Kentucky. Penalties DUI in Kentucky: the criminal penalties associated with driving under the influence of Kentucky become more serious with each offense for a person accumulates. The look back period is useful for determining whether an offender will face fines for a first offense or a subsequent offense.
The penalties for a first offense DUI in Kentucky are $ 200 to $ 500 fine, a service charge of $ 250, 48 hours to 30 days in jail and not less than 48 hours and no more than 30 days of community service if the offender is eligible, suspension of driving license from 30 to 120 days and 90 days of alcohol or drug assessment and treatment. An offender is eligible for a work permit after 30 days of suspension. Second offenses result in severe penalties of fines of $ 350- $ 500, $ 200 in service charges, seven days to six months in jail and not less than 10 days and no more than six months of community service a year of drug evaluation , alcohol treatment and 12-18 months license suspension. A third offense DUI results Kentucky in penalties, including a fine of $ 500 to $ 1,000, 30 days to 12 months in jail and not less than 10 days and not more than 12 months of community service, 24 to 36 months revocation license and one year of assessment and compulsory treatment of alcohol and drugs. A fourth offense DUI is a Class D felony in Kentucky. The offender must serve a mandatory 120-day jail sentence that may be of one year to five years duration.