If you are arrested for DUI in Illinois, you will face strict laws, and threatens to your freedom, your finances and your future. Unlike previous years, prosecutors in Illinois now take more stringent measures in implementing DUI laws. Judges also are being harsher in their judgment. Obtaining legal representation is desirable.
DUI is a misdemeanor offense known as a Class A, but can be a felony if there are aggravating factors. Class A misdemeanor carries a possible maximum sentence of 364 days in jail, a fine of $ 2,500.00 and other conditions, such as community service. Many offenders are given a period of supervision the first time but are hit with large fines, treatment programs for alcohol abuse or substance and a suspension of your driving privileges.
There are additional consequences. A DUI arrest can result in forfeiture or confiscation of the vehicle. If you are convicted, you will need to carry a high risk auto insurance and more expensive, for a period of at least 3 years. If you are convicted of a second or subsequent DUI phrases it is mandatory jail time. If there was a passenger in the vehicle under the age of 16, or if there was open alcohol in the vehicle, the penalties increase. Different and stricter laws apply to those under 21 years of age. Moreover, the penalties are increased if there was an accident with personal injury.
A lawyer may be able to negotiate a settlement of your case that will diminish some of the negative effects mentioned above. A lawyer can discuss and obtain an exception to the legal suspension of your driver’s license that allows restricted driving privileges.
The best advice is not to drink and drive.